Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Viva Le Cinema !
15 juin 2010

The Biggest Bond of all!

THUNDERBALL

(UK 1965) Directed by Robert Young.

Enjoy the movie :

In November 65, a month before "Thunderball", the fourth James Bond film premièred, Sean Connery gave a great interview to Playboy magazine about 007. This is how Bond talked, in 65 :

"PLAYBOY: Do you think (007 is) sadistic?

CONNERY: Bond is dealing with rather sadistic adversaries who dream up pretty wild schemes to destroy, maim or mutilate him. He must retaliate in kind; otherwise it's who's kidding who.

PLAYBOY: How do you feel about roughing up a woman, as Bond sometimes has to do?

CONNERY: I don't think there is anything particularly wrong about hitting a woman - although I don't recommend doing it in the same way that you'd hit a man. An  open handed slap is justified - if all other alternatives fail and there has been plenty of warning. If a woman is a bitch, or hysterical, or bloody-minded continually, then I'd do it. I think a man has to be slightly advanced, ahead of the woman. I really do - by virtue of the way a man is built, if nothing else. But I wouldn't call myself sadistic. I think one of the appeals that Bond has for women, however, is that he is decisive, cruel even. By their nature women aren't decisive - "Shall I wear this? Shall I wear that?" - and along comes a man who is absolutely sure of everything  and he's a godsend. And, of course, Bond is never in love with a girl and that helps. He always does what he wants, and women like that. It explains why so many women are crazy about men who don't give a rap for them."...

Read the rest of the Interview here, and while you do so, listen to the song Johnny Cash submitted to the producers for the credits sequence, before they chose Tom Jones.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Viva Le Cinema !
Publicité
Archives
Publicité